SK EN

People

Research Fellows

Research Fellows

Daniela Andrén, PhD.
Research Fellow
Örebro University, Örebro
Research areas
Labor markets and institutions Social insurance Policy evaluation Health Economics

Daniela.Andren@oru.se

Sabina Avdagic, PhD.
Research Fellow
University of Sussex, Brighton
Research areas
Comparative political economy Comparative labour relations and welfare states Institutional analysis Research design and methodology

S.Avdagic@sussex.ac.uk

Anna Baranowska-Rataj
Research Fellow
Research areas
youth labor market integration, female labour supply, fertility consequences

anna.baranowska@soc.umu.se

Ansgar Belke
Research Fellow
the University of Duisburg-Essen
Research areas
international macroeconomics, monetary economics, European integration and applied econometrics

Ansbel@aol.com

Rolf Bergs
Research Fellow
Policy Research & Consultancy(PRAC) Partnership Co.
Research areas
European regional policy, real convergence and integration of markets, cross-border spatial development

RolfB@prac.de

Magdalena Bernaciak, PhD.
Research Fellow
European Trade Union Institute (ETUI), Brussels
Research areas
Political economy of EU eastern enlargement Industrial relations in Central-Eastern Europe Transnational relations among trade unions

mbernaciak@etui.org

Katharina Bluhm, PhD.
Research Fellow
Freien Universität Berlin, Berlin
Research areas
Varieties of Capitalism and Labour Relations in Central and Eastern Europe Economic Elites in International Comparison Corporate Social Responsibility and Cohesion SME in East-West Comparison

katharina.bluhm@fu-berlin.de

Dorothee Bohle, PhD.
Research Fellow
Central European University, Budapest
Research areas
Labour markets and institutions

J. David Brown
Research Fellow
Research areas
Firm- and worker-level effects of public policies, privatization, productivity, immigration

J.David.Brown@census.gov

Sebastian Buhai, PhD.
Research Fellow
Aarhus University, Aarhus
Research areas
Labor Economics Microeconometrics Real Options Personnel Economics Economics of Education Social Networks Empirical Industrial Organization

sbuhai@gmail.com

Ayse Caglar, PhD.
Research Fellow
University Wien, Wien
Research areas
Globalization and transnationalization processes Migration, urban restructuring and migrants Cultural industries Transnational legal spaces, citizenship Roma in Europe European cultural policies, immigrant cultural production and cultural industries

caglara@ceu.hu

Juan Carlos Cuestas
Research Fellow
Research areas
European integration, unemployment dynamics and structural change, debt

juan.carlos.cuestas@eestipank.ee

Jan Czarzasty, PhD.
Research Fellow
Warsaw School of Economics (SGH), Warsaw
Research areas
Industrial relations Social dialogue Organisational culture

jczarz@sgh.waw.pl

Jan Drahokoupil, PhD.
Research Fellow
European Trade Union Institute (ETUI), Brussels
Research areas
Comparative Political Economy Labour markets and institutions Welfare State Public policy Comparative Politics

jan.drahokoupil@gmail.com

Raul Eamets, PhD.
Research Fellow
University of Tartu, Tartu
Research areas
Labour market flows , flexibility, policies Education and labour markets Employment and unemployment in Estonia During transition Hidden labour market (incl. hidden unemployment)

Raul.Eamets@ut.ee

John Earle, PhD.
Research Fellow
Central European University, Budapest
Research areas
Firm-level and worker-level effects of public policies Political economy Firm performance Privatization and corporate governance

earlej@ceu.hu

Jan Fidrmuc, PhD.
Research Fellow
Brunel University, London
Research areas
Political economy Migration Labor-market institutions (especially minimum wage rules) Marriage market

jan.fidrmuc@brunel.ac.uk

Carola Frege, PhD.
Research Fellow
London School of Economics, London
Research areas
Comparative employment relations Trade unions Industrial democracy Migration and racism

c.m.frege@lse.ac.uk

Teresa García-Muñoz
Research Fellow
University of Granada
Research areas
happiness, subjective wellbeing, subjective health, migration, and economics of religion

tgarciam@ugr.es

Béla Greskovits, PhD.
Research Fellow
Central European University, Budapest
Research areas
Political and social impact of leading transnational industries in Eastern Europe Politics of enlargement of the Eurozone Democratization South American and Eastern European political and economic development, economic ideologies, politics of policy making

greskovi@ceu.hu

Igor Guardiancich
Research Fellow
University of Southern Denmark
Research areas
European social policy, pensions, Central and Eastern European welfare states, varieties of capitalism, political economy of transition

igor.guardiancich@eui.eu • igor.guardiancich@gmail.com • igu@sam.sdu.dk

Martin Guzi, PhD.
Research Fellow
Research areas
Migration Economics of Happiness Social Security and Unemployment

Martin.Guzi@econ.muni.cz

Marek Góra, PhD.
Research Fellow
Warsaw School of Economics, Warszawa
Research areas
Pension economics, pension reforms Labour economics Macroeconomics Economic and social policy

marek.gora321@gmail.com

Mihails Hazans, Dr. Math.
Research Fellow
University of Latvia, Riga
Research areas
Migration, commuting Economics of education Ethnic minorities Labour supply Determinants of earnings Active labour market policies Informal employment

mihazan@lanet.lv

Marek Hlaváč
Research Fellow
Harvard University, Cambridge
Research areas
labor markets and institutions, political economy of redistribution, comparative political economy

hlavac@fas.harvard.edu

Ágnes Hárs, PhD.
Research Fellow
KOPINT-TARKI Economic Research Institute Ltd, Budapest
Research areas
Labour Economics Economics of Migration Regional Economics Economics of Shortage

agnes.hars@kopint-tarki.hu

Jana Javornik
Research Fellow
Research areas
welfare state, comparative social and public policy (focus on work-family policy), female labour supply and parental employment, work-family reconciliation, employers’ initiatives, gender inequalities, people's lived experiences; sustainability, equalities and social justice as cross-cutting themes

j.javornik@leeds.ac.uk

Štěpán Jurajda, PhD.
Research Fellow
CERGE-EI, Prague
Research areas
International wage comparisons Gender differences on the labour market and in education Order effects

stepan.jurajda@cerge-ei.cz

Arunas Juska, PhD.
Research Fellow
East Carolina University in Greenville, USA
Research areas
Baltic states Post-socialist politics and labor policies Crime and policing Rural development Community organizing

juskaa@ecu.edu

Peter Katuščák, PhD.
Research Fellow
CERGE-EI, Prague
Research areas
Experimental economics Effect of taxes on labor supply and labor contracts

Peter.Katuscak@cerge-ei.cz

Martin Krzywdzinski, PhD.
Research Fellow
Berlin Social Research Center (WZB), Berlin
Research areas
Labor relations International division of labor Multinational companies Emerging economies

martin.krzywdzinski@wzb.eu

Jaan Masso, PhD.
Research Fellow
University of Tartu, Tartu
Research areas
Earnings inequality Labour demand Labour market institutions

Jaan.Masso@mtk.ut.ee

Guglielmo Meardi, PhD.
Research Fellow
University of Warwick, Coventry
Research areas
Migration Multinational companies Comparative industrial relations

Guglielmo.Meardi@wbs.ac.uk

Tibor T Meszmann
Research Fellow
Research areas
Collective bargaining in the Hungarian metal sectors, employment forms and policies, trade unionism and labour movements, the role of temporary agencies in the labour market, labour migration from cross-border regions

meszmann@yahoo.com

Michael Moritz
Research Fellow
IAB – Institute for Employment Research
Research areas
Economic integration, Regional labour markets, Border region studies

Michael.Moritz@iab.de

Adam Mrozowicki, PhD.
Research Fellow
University of Wrocław, Wrocław
Research areas
Comparative industrial relations in the Central and Eastern Europe Trade union revitalisation and Trade union organising

mrozowicki@gmail.com

Martin Myant, PhD.
Research Fellow
University of the West of Scotland
Research areas
Economic transformation in East-Central Europe Employment relations Trade unions

martin.myant@uws.ac.uk

Lucia Mýtna Kureková, PhD.
Research Fellow
Slovak Governance Institute, Bratislava
Research areas
Labor Migration and Labor Markets Employment and ethnicity

lucia.kurekova@celsi.sk

Shoshana Neuman
Research Fellow
Department of Economics at Bar-Ilan University (Israel)
Research areas
Migration; Labor Markets: segregation, discrimination, job quality, gender/ethnic/migrant-native differences; Health Economics; Older Populations in Europe; Low-Employability Populations - Policies for integration into the labor market

shoshana.neuman@biu.ac.il

Elena Nikolova
Research Fellow
European Bank for Reconstruction and Development
Research areas
Political economy, migration, entrepreneurship, politics and economics of transition

nikolova.ele@gmail.com

David Ost
Research Fellow
Hobart and William Smith Colleges in Geneva, New York
Research areas
Labor Studies Class analysis Political economy Democratization

ost@hws.edu

Mariola Pytlikova, PhD.
Research Fellow
Aarhus University, Aarhus
Research areas
Labour Economics International Migration Workforce Diversity Wage Structures and Labour Market Dynamics Gender Wage Gap Earnings Inequality Industrial Organizations

Marp@asb.dk

Monica Roman, PhD.
Research Fellow
Bucharest University of Economic Studies, Bucharest
Research areas
Economics of international migration Labor and demographic economics Regional studies and transition economies Public policy evaluation

monica.roman@csie.ase.ro

Dumitru Sandu, PhD.
Research Fellow
University of Bucharest, Bucharest
Research areas
Migration Community and Regional Development State of mind sociology (life satisfaction, optimism, trust) European integration and identification

dumitru.sandu@gmail.com

Zuzana Siebertová
Research Fellow
Council for Budget Responsibility
Research areas
Labour markets, Tax and transfer system reforms, Microeconometrics, Microsimulations

siebertova@rrz.sk

Miroslav Stanojević, PhD.
Research Fellow
University of Ljubljana
Research areas
Industrial relations (broad definition)

Miroslav.Stanojevic@fdv.uni-lj.si

Max Friedrich Steinhardt, Dr. rer. pol.
Research Fellow
Hamburg Institute of International Economics, Hamburg
Research areas
Economics of migration Labour economics Applied microeconometrics Regional economics Political economy

steinhardt@hwwi.org

Aleksandra Sznajder Lee, PhD.
Research Fellow
University of Richmond, Richmond
Research areas
Comparative politics Work and organizations Business and society

Vera Trapmann, PhD.
Research Fellow
Osnabrück University, Osnabrück
Research areas
Labour Markets and Institutions Work and Organizations Business and Society

Aurora Trif, PhD.
Research Fellow
Dublin City University Business School, Dublin
Research areas
Political economy of public sector employment Comparative industrial relations Comparative welfare state research

aurora.trif@dcu.ie

Ganna (Hanna) Vakhitova, PhD.
Research Fellow
Kyiv School of Economics, Ukraine
Research areas
Labour migration and it's skills dimension Remittances and spending by left behind Migration, remittances and development Education and skills Private employment agencies and their role in migration Migration and occupation mobility Social policy and poverty reduction Impact evaluation

vakhitova@kse.org.ua

Pieter Vanhuysse, PhD.
Research Fellow
European Centre for Social Welfare Policy and Research, Vienna
Research areas
Theory and politics of welfare states Political sociology and political economy of public policies Central and Eastern European policy pathways Comparative human capital politics and social investment policies Comparative welfare regime models and varieties of democratic capitalism in Western and Eastern Europe The political and policy aspects of generational conflict and population aging

vanhuysse@euro.centre.org

Mihai Varga, PhD.
Research Fellow
European University Institute, Florence
Research areas
Patterns of working-class mobilization and organization in post-communist countries

Mihai.Varga@eui.eu

Alessandra Venturini, PhD.
Research Fellow
University of Turin, Turin
Research areas
Effects of migration Foreigners’ assimilation in the destination country Remittances and high skilled migration in sending countries Circular and irregular migration

alessandra.venturini@unito.it

Jelle Visser, PhD.
Research Fellow
AIAS, University of Amsterdam, Amsterdam
Research areas
Social pacts in Europe Trade unions European integration and its interaction with national employment policies and labour relations Migration of labour and services Regulation of non-standard employment The EU posted workers regime

jelle.visser@uva.nl

Milan Vodopivec, PhD.
Research Fellow
University of Primorska, Koper International School for Social and Business Studies, Celje
Research areas
Labor markets and institutions Labor market dynamics Unemployment insurance

milan.vodopivec@gmail.com

Charles Woolfson, PhD.
Research Fellow
Linköping University, Linköping
Research areas
Labour migration Industrial relations Working environment New EU member states

charles.woolfson@liu.se

Anželika Zaiceva, PhD.
Research Fellow
University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Modena
Research areas
Labour economics Migration Economics of transition

zaiceva@iza.org and anzelika.zaiceva@unimore.it

Jan Švejnar, PhD.
Research Fellow
Columbia University, New York
Research areas
Economic development and transition Labor economics Behavior of the firm

js4085@columbia.edu